California Coastal Commission

The Coastal Commission plans and regulates the use of land and water in the coastal zone, including construction of buildings, divisions of land, and activities that change land use or public access to coastal waters.

The Commission is committed to protecting and enhancing California’s coast and ocean for present and future generations. It does so through careful planning and regulation of environmentally-sustainable development, rigorous use of science, strong public participation, education, and effective intergovernmental coordination.

Along with the Bay Conservation and Development Commission (BCDC), and the California Coastal Conservancy, the Coastal Commission is one of California's three designated coastal management agencies for the purpose of administering the federal Coastal Zone Management Act (CZMA) in California.


The Commission is an independent, quasi-judicial state agency. The California Coastal Commission has 12 voting members and 3 non-voting members.

The 12 voting commissioners:

  • Four are appointed by the Governor;
  • Four are appointed by the Senate Rules Committee; and
  • Four are appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly
  • Six of the voting commissioners are locally elected officials, and six are appointed from the public at large.

Three ex officio (non-voting) members represent the Resources Agency, the California State Transportation Agency, and the State Lands Commission.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email